Sega netlink in Russia

This is the place for anything about Sega Saturn
Rainbow-dead
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:17 am

Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rainbow-dead » Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:36 am

Hi guys!I have questions: can i connect with sega netlink in Russia. And if i can, how can i find free dial-up internet in Russia nowadays? If you are russia,please, write me private massage on russian.

User avatar
Warp2063
League Veteran
League Veteran
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:28 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Warp2063 » Wed Oct 21, 2015 1:57 pm

If you want to play the NetLink games, you do not need a dial-up ISP. You will need an analog (POTS) phone line and the telephone number of the opponent you wish to play with. Unfortunately, fewer and fewer companies offer analog phone service, and it is usually more expensive than digital phone service. Digital phone service usually causes severe lag and disconnects for NetLink games. I do not know what the worldwide status is for digital versus analog phone service. Analog phone service is becoming rare in the United States.

If you plan to use the NetLink to view websites, you will need a dial-up ISP. With the right setup, you can host your own. http://www.dreamcast-scene.com/guides/p ... uide-win7/ You will also need the PlanetWeb Web Browser software.
I have my Saturns, I have some of my games, I have a RasPi. Gotta put all this stuff together!

Rogue
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:48 am
Location: Brasil

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rogue » Fri Oct 23, 2015 11:11 pm

Like already pointed, you need to know about your local phone service.

How is the phone of your house? Do you know how it works? You can ask your parents if you don't know.

If you live in a modern house or apartment, chances are that you don't have a telephone line.

If you don't know, can you tell how is it charged? How do you pay for the telephone of your house? If you have a different bill for telephone and internet, maybe you are lucky!

If you only have that thick coaxial cable that goes inside some set-top-box and then it goes to TV, internet and telephone, it''s impossible.

I'm sorry if I sounded like you are a teenager, but you made some very simple questions. Let's see if someone from russia can help.

Remember:
Free ISP: browse the web in a very old browser. (HTML 2.0)
Telephone: play the 5 games (works like a fax machine)
I'm ready to play!
Timezone: GMT -3
Games: Sega Rally - Virtual On - Duke Nukem 3D

Rainbow-dead
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:17 am

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rainbow-dead » Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:20 am

Thanks guys. But i have next questin: Can i connect with method like PC-DC, but on Saturn?

User avatar
Warp2063
League Veteran
League Veteran
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:28 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Warp2063 » Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:06 pm

Rainbow-dead wrote:Thanks guys. But i have next questin: Can i connect with method like PC-DC, but on Saturn?

Only for the web browser. The games do not use an ISP. The games directly dial your opponent.
I have my Saturns, I have some of my games, I have a RasPi. Gotta put all this stuff together!

Rainbow-dead
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:17 am

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rainbow-dead » Fri Nov 13, 2015 9:30 am

Thanks! I have the last question: What cost dialing with opponent for Russia?

User avatar
Warp2063
League Veteran
League Veteran
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:28 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Warp2063 » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:00 am

The only cost is the cost of the phone call. There's no cost for playing the game. If your phone company charges twenty cents for you to call a friend for a 20-minute phone call, then it will cost twenty cents for a 20-minute game over the phone line.
I have my Saturns, I have some of my games, I have a RasPi. Gotta put all this stuff together!

Rogue
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:48 am
Location: Brasil

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rogue » Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:23 pm

Calls are really that cheap in USA? 20 cents for 20 minutes?
It should be something like 10 bucks for minute.
Well, anything is overpriced here anyway...
I'm ready to play!
Timezone: GMT -3
Games: Sega Rally - Virtual On - Duke Nukem 3D

User avatar
Warp2063
League Veteran
League Veteran
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:28 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Warp2063 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:00 am

Rogue wrote:Calls are really that cheap in USA? 20 cents for 20 minutes?
It should be something like 10 bucks for minute.
Well, anything is overpriced here anyway...

I made up some numbers as an example. I didn't make very many long-distance NetLink calls, but a few minutes usually added up to dollars, if I remember correctly.
I have my Saturns, I have some of my games, I have a RasPi. Gotta put all this stuff together!

Rainbow-dead
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:17 am

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rainbow-dead » Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:24 am

May I use Netlink modem with NTSC/J Sega saturn?

User avatar
Warp2063
League Veteran
League Veteran
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:28 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Warp2063 » Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:48 pm

Rainbow-dead wrote:May I use Netlink modem with NTSC/J Sega saturn?

It will physically fit in the slot - I don't believe there's any type of region locking on Saturn peripherals. However, peripherals will only activate if there's software designed to use them. I have a Japanese MPEG decoder card in my NTSC/U Saturn, but it only works if I convince the system that it is also NTSC/J. If you can run NTSC/U games on your NTSC/J Saturn, then the NetLink modem should be recognized and work.
I have my Saturns, I have some of my games, I have a RasPi. Gotta put all this stuff together!

Rainbow-dead
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:17 am

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rainbow-dead » Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:08 am

Warp2063 wrote:
Rainbow-dead wrote:May I use Netlink modem with NTSC/J Sega saturn?

It will physically fit in the slot - I don't believe there's any type of region locking on Saturn peripherals. However, peripherals will only activate if there's software designed to use them. I have a Japanese MPEG decoder card in my NTSC/U Saturn, but it only works if I convince the system that it is also NTSC/J. If you can run NTSC/U games on your NTSC/J Saturn, then the NetLink modem should be recognized and work.

Ok, may it work on NTSC/J saturn with modchip?

User avatar
Warp2063
League Veteran
League Veteran
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:28 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Warp2063 » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:57 am

Rainbow-dead wrote:
Warp2063 wrote:
Rainbow-dead wrote:May I use Netlink modem with NTSC/J Sega saturn?

It will physically fit in the slot - I don't believe there's any type of region locking on Saturn peripherals. However, peripherals will only activate if there's software designed to use them. I have a Japanese MPEG decoder card in my NTSC/U Saturn, but it only works if I convince the system that it is also NTSC/J. If you can run NTSC/U games on your NTSC/J Saturn, then the NetLink modem should be recognized and work.

Ok, may it work on NTSC/J saturn with modchip?

A modchip does not change the region code of your game system.
I have my Saturns, I have some of my games, I have a RasPi. Gotta put all this stuff together!

Rainbow-dead
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:17 am

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Rainbow-dead » Sat Dec 19, 2015 10:49 pm

But can i use american Netlink modem with NTSC/J consol?

User avatar
Warp2063
League Veteran
League Veteran
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:28 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Sega netlink in Russia

Postby Warp2063 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 11:21 pm

Rainbow-dead wrote:But can i use american Netlink modem with NTSC/J consol?

Yes, if you can run compatible NTSC/U software, such as the Planetweb Browser or the five NTSC/U NetLink games.
I have my Saturns, I have some of my games, I have a RasPi. Gotta put all this stuff together!


Return to “Sega Saturn”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest